Which states have a ban on same-sex marriage?

Utah, Nevada, Idaho, Wyoming, South Dakota, Alabama, Mississippi, Mississippi Delta, South Carolina, Mississippi Valley, South Florida, Virginia and Arkansas are among states that have banned same-gender couples from marrying.

Utah and Idaho have also banned same sex marriage in their constitutions.

The remaining states, including Louisiana, Florida, North Carolina, Georgia and Tennessee, have no such bans.

Here’s what you need to know.